House System
Queen's College London
Queen's College London

House System

When you arrive at QCPS in Reception, every pupil is allocated to one of six houses: Curie, Potter, Nightingale, Franklin, Pankhurst and Dod. The house system allows pupils to work with their peers and staff, in order to develop new and stronger relationships across the year groups. Pupils are awarded house points throughout the year which contribute to the end-of-year cup.

Find out more about the influential women our houses are named after below: 


Marie Curie (Blue): was a Polish physicist and chemist who conducted pioneering research on radioactivity. She was the first woman to win a Nobel Prize, the first person and only woman to win a Nobel Prize twice, and the only person to win a Nobel Prize in two scientific fields. 


Rosalind Franklin (Red): was a British chemist and X-ray crystallographer whose work was central to the understanding of the molecular structures of DNA, RNA, viruses, coal, and graphite.


Florence Nightingale (Yellow): was an English social reformer, statistician and the founder of modern nursing. Nightingale came to prominence while serving as a manager and trainer of nurses during the Crimean War, in which she organised care for wounded soldiers at Constantinople.


Beatrix Potter (Green): was an English writer, illustrator, natural scientist, and conservationist. She is best known for her children's books featuring animals, such as The Tale of Peter Rabbit, which was her first published work in 1902. Her books, including 23 Tales, have sold more than 250 million copies.